Wednesday, April 20, 2011

April Meeting Notes

Tuesday, April 19th, WordWeavers held their monthly meeting. Rita Durret, Barbara Shoff, Marilyn Boone, Tawnya York, Diana Purser, Jennifer McMurrain, Denise Jarmola and Heather Davis were all in attendance.

The first few minutes were spent congratulating the winners of the Friends of the Library Bartlesville Creative Writing Contest. WordWeavers basically swept the board with:

2nd - Jennifer McMurrain

1st - Denise Jarmola
2nd - Marilyn Boone

2nd - Tawnya York

Stories for Children
1st - Jennifer McMurrain
2nd - Diana Purser

And of course our own Denise Jarmola won the Grand Prize for her Non-fiction piece!!!

There will be an awards ceremony Thursday (21st) at 7pm at the Bartlesville Public Library in Meeting Room A (upstairs). Rilla Askew, author of Harpsong and Bartlesville native, will be the key note speaker. Everyone is welcome to attend.

Officers were also elected at Tuesday’s meeting:
Jennifer McMurrain – President
Marilyn Boone – Vice President
Diana Purser – Treasurer
Barbara Shoff – Secretary

Other business included verifying all OWFI details and voting on an informational bookmarker for the library staff to hand out to interested parties.

The rest of the meeting was spent critiquing. Next month we will critique work from Barbara, Marilyn and Tawnya. Our next meeting is May 17th at 7pm in Meeting Room A (upstairs). See you on the 17th.

Sunday, April 17, 2011

April Meeting

WordWeavers April Meeting this Tuesday (19th) at 7pm at the Bartlesville Public Library in Meeting Room B (downstairs corner).

Hope to see you there!

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Pictures from February's Meeting

Sorry the color's a bit off on these. I tried to fix them but everyone ended up looking like a smurf.

Rita, Tawnya and Marilyn

Diana and Jennifer

Denise and Veronica

Next meeting is April 19th at 7pm at the Bartlesville Public Library Meeting Room B (downstairs corner)